Certified Veterinary Medical Acupuncturist

Hello, my name is Leila Hunt, DVM, CVMA and I am a 2000 graduate of Texas A&M University. I have worked in small animal practice in Texas from 2000 to 2007 and in Tennessee from 2007 to 2020. My family has just relocated to Colorado in April of 2020. I have worked in both corporate medicine as well as private practices and am very excited to personalize the care I can provide by moving into a house call based setting. I have a passion for educating clients and really taking the time to discuss ailments and care options so my clients can fully understand what is going on and together we can create a treatment plan that is best for your pet. I feel an educated client is a powerful one and the more you know the better you can care for your pets.

I enjoy dermatology and internal medicine cases as well as geriatric pet care. I also like to focus on a healthy body with proper nutrition and supplements as a more natural way to support the body as much as possible to treat underlying issues (such as gut health) and not just treat with medication alone without looking for the why or safer long term options. I was feeling frustrated with what western medicine could offer my patients as they aged, so I sought out advanced training in acupuncture to be able to offer another modality to ease their suffering. I am now a certified veterinary medical acupuncturist. I have really enjoyed learning this new skill and have been very pleased being able to offer relief to my senior friends with mobility issues. Of course, it is not just effective for painful seniors, but many other health conditions and all ages of pets as well. I would love to bring this service to as many patients as possible and I think doing it in a home-based setting is really the perfect place for it. Pets are more relaxed at home and at the completion they can just continue their nap and not have to get up and travel back home. I am so excited to meet all of you and become a part of your family. I had a huge clientele in both states I worked in and it broke my heart to leave them as so many pets
I had cared for since their first puppy or kitten visits, I cried, my clients cried, it was hard, it still is, I miss them terribly. I look forward to making those connections in our forever
home in Colorado.

A little personal info as I know it is fun to know a little about me as a person. I am a mother to 3 human kids and I have 2 dogs and a cat. One dog is an Anatolian Shepherd named Rooster (about 120 pounds) and the other a Chihuahua rescue named Hazel Birdie (about 7 pounds), they are a funny pair. I have one 15-year-old kitty named Penny. I also do some work as a professional photographer in my “free time”, haha, with 3 kids, there isn’t much of that. I love to dance, I currently take ballet and pointe and I am the oldest person in my pointe class by at least 30 years. Old dog, new tricks Like everyone in Colorado, I like to hike and be outdoors as much as possible. I do like to ski but I do not like going fast.